Nobel Peace Prize Goes To Women Striving For Peace

National Yemen 
Tawakul Karman chanting for the ouster of Saleh
Statement by the High Representative, Catherine Ashton,
on the Nobel Peace Prize for 2011
Catherine Ashton, EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Commission
Vice-President, made the following statement today:
"It is my great pleasure to congratulate three outstanding women, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah
Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman on their award of the Nobel Peace Prize 2011. It is a well-deserved
tribute to their outstanding commitment to peace, democracy and women's rights.
I view this award as a reflection of the hopes that all three prize winners have raised globally,
through their relentless fight for peace, democracy and the improvement of women's rights in
their own countries and beyond.
The values for which they have worked so long are fully shared by the European Union. Crucially,
the decision of the Nobel Peace Prize Committee recognises that these values do not belong to any
one country or region - they are truly universal.
I am sure that the award will inspire many others to follow the path of these three outstanding
women, to contribute to world peace in the years to come."

Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian peace activist Leymah Roberta Gbowee and Yemeni protest leader Tawakkul Karman are being honored.

This year’s Nobels come with about $1.5 million. That amount will be divided between the three laureates.